Ice cream sandwiches made easy

Standard

Photobucket

For Jack’s birthday weekend I cooked up a storm of good grub, including an experimental vegan version of pecan pie. My man is from Oklahoma where pecan pies are a food staple, like milk, butter and bread. He knows and loves his pecan pie. I should have known starting out that my vegan version would be a disaster.

Don’t get me wrong, it tasted good, but it didn’t taste like the “traditional” pecan pie that folks from the South know and love. Jack took one bite and lifted an eyebrow at me, “This is a lot of things, but it is NOT pecan pie.” And then a 5-minute lecture ensued about what “pecan pie” is supposed to taste like.

Sigh. Okay.

Birthday pie (actually, it was more of a tart) was a no-go. It just sat on the counter looking lonely and dissed. I felt so bad for it and berated myself for calling it “pecan pie”, a loaded term if ever there was one. Augh! I should have called it something else, like “loony pie” and it would have at least been enjoyed for the delish freakishness that it was.

Fine. On to Plan B.

Well, after all that cooking (and subsequent rejection) I was not about to spend a minute more on birthday dessert than I had to. I was feeling a little deflated.

I opened the freezer door and stared inside it for a full minute hoping a coconut cake would magically appear. Not for Jack, but for me!

It didn’t.

Instead, I pulled out these frozen muffin top things that I had recently bought thinking we might try them out for an easy semi-healthy weeknight dessert. And then I pulled out a pint of vegan ice cream. (If you haven’t had Coconut Bliss’s Dark Chocolate, it’s awesome!)

Easy ice cream sandwiches would save the day. Jack jumped on it. Yay.

Photobucket

While I toasted up the muffin tops, Jack took the pint of ice cream and started sawing at it with a bread knife.

Photobucket

What the …?? Oh, my gosh! What are you doing, you crazy dude?

Photobucket

Whoa. Uh …

Photobucket

… that’s kind of … snort … brilliant.

Photobucket

Instant ice cream sandwich. No mess, no fuss.

Photobucket

So easy. So satisfying.

Photobucket

And the birthday was saved.

2 responses »

  1. Looks delicious. Definitely worth a try soon :). And kudos to you on the pecan pie attempt. Would you repeat it some day, maybe just not a birthday or is it a no go for the future?

Leave a comment