The Fremont Diner, Sonoma

Standard

Photobucket

I’m a diner girl, it’s my favorite kind of restaurant. Given any opportunity to go to a diner, I’ll go. I love it even more if the waitress calls you “honey”.

Do you remember that old American TV show, Alice, from the late 70s? I used to love that show. “Mel, you can just Kiss. My. Grits!” I have always wanted to say that to someone, but I don’t think I could pull it off.

Anyway, for my birthday Jack and I went out to Sonoma County for a day of fun, and on the way home we stopped for an early dinner at the Fremont Diner, a little roadside joint that is so unassuming it’s easy to miss. For those lucky enough to take notice and stop, it’s a treat.

Photobucket

Photobucket

They like their pork here. A lot.

Photobucket

Everywhere you look there are knick knacks and goodies. I loved it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Everything’s organic and most fare on the menu is locally sourced. For sure they’ve got all the comfort foods: breakfast all day, chicken fried steak, mac n’ cheese. The menu is packed. It was really hard to choose something.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

My sweetie. He’s such a good sport, putting up with all my strange requests. “Are you sure you want diner food for your birthday?” Yup. I absolutely want diner food for my birthday.

Photobucket

On the left, Jack had the oyster po’ boy. On the right, on the recommendation of the waitress, I went for the “Whole Hog”, a BBQ pulled pork sandwich.

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was a fabulous birthday dinner. A good diner never disappoints.

If you’re going from Napa to Sonoma, or vice versa, on Highway 12, look for the Fremont Diner. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

3 responses »

  1. I don’t know that I would choose diner food for my birthday(well maybe I would), but your sweetie should be glad you’re easy to please.

    I do love your pictures and story. I especially enjoyed seeing their offering of homegrown veggies and the “honor the till”.

Leave a Reply

