Mic’s books to travel with

Standard

Photobucket

For me, traveling is the ideal time to read so I before I set out on any trip I look thru my TBR (To Be Read) pile and load up the Kindle.

Here’s what’s on my list for this trip:

I recently heard an interview with Sarah Bakewell, the author of How to Live or A Life of Montaigne, on Forum with Michael Krasny (one of THE best interviewers in radio or TV bar none). The book is a 2010 National Book Critics Circle Award winner and both the author and book sounded wonderful, so I’m really looking forward to it.

Photobucket

Ron Suskind‘s latest book, Confidence Men, is about the Obama presidency and Wall Street. I don’t know about you, but since the documentary Inside Job I’ve been curious to know what the hayballs is going on in Washington regarding the banking system. When I heard Ron Suskind had a new book out, I immediately put it on my list. Plus, it’s gotten tons of push back from the White House due to some unfavorable exposition. Hmmm. Even more reason to read it, eh?

Photobucket

Several years ago I read Suskind’s The Way of the World and thought it very good: interesting, well written and well-rounded. Probably as unbiased as you’re going to get from an American on 911. Suskind’s background in hard news journalism is extensive and award-winning. Anyway, I then loaned it to Jack: “I thought it was a fascinating way to present several different sides to the anxiety that has been created post-911. In some ways it was also really alarming.”

If you haven’t read it, I recommend it.

Photobucket

Now, let’s get to the fun stuff! I was reminded by my friend Karin that Julia Spencer-Fleming‘s newest book was out (I’ve been waiting more than 18 months for it). Spencer-Fleming is a wonderful mystery writer. This books is the latest in the Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyn series.

Photobucket

And finally, the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning. A discussion over at Smart Bitches, Trashy Books finally forced me to pull this series off the shelf. Here was the quote that raised my eyebrows and had me reaching for my Kindle:

“I have a problem. I recently read Karen Marie-Moning’s Fever series, and since finishing it, have lost my will to live. The hero (I use this term loosely) is absolutely my favorite of all time, and I feel like I’ve just been dumped. I’m not looking for someone to replace him, just something to numb the pain. A rebound sorta thing, ya know? Someone to show me that there can be life after Barrons.” —Krista

Ha!

Photobucket

So, what are you guys reading?

6 responses »

  1. I love to read – still thinking about getting a Kindle, but I still love to read an actually book. I am trying to expand my horizons and read more than just mystery lately. I am going to have to check out Moning – sounds like a good read – Thanks for sharing!

  2. KMM books are an acquired taste. You either love them or hate them.

    I have a kobo. I rarely use it except to travel with or buy OOP hqn’s.

    My reading list is on my goodreads pg…. linked here.

  3. I am in the throes of Kindle ecstasy….my library lends to my Kindle, so I have gone old school….Mary Balogh. Finally getting around to reading her Simply and Slightly series and, despite my greatest attempts to not like them….am so loving them. I am taking the risk on the Kindle Fire and am probably going to pass along my “regular” to my MIL for Christmas.

    As far as what I’m reading (besides Mary)….have been going the the All About Romance Top 100 for 2007 and 2010…..with the library lending to my Kindle…..it’s making it cheap and fun.

  4. mostly Dutch books and writers. But not so much as I used to before I got ill. Reading still is hard working for my brain. I started again in Olive garden, but when I don’t rread a chapter every day I can start all over again.
    I look at it positively: I can read all my books over and over and never get bored!

  5. I just finished “The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield (wonderful book on pursuing creativity and defeating any “blocks”), and now I’m reading “Start Something That Matters” by Black Mycoskie (the founder of TOMS shoes). I enjoy your blog!! Thanks for the suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

