Pumpkin spice chai vegan milkshake

Standard

Photobucket

Earlier this year I gave up coffee. Again. It was terrible and traumatic at the time, but I don’t really miss it. Sorta.

Okay, who am I kidding, I do miss it. I love the smell of coffee and its heady aroma first thing in the morning. I also miss the specialty drinks during the holidays. Every year I got a thrill when I saw Pumpkin Spice Latte appear on the menu. Oooooh. Happiness. And then when Christmas rolled around I felt giddy as I entertained Peppermint Mochas and Eggnog Lattes. I miss it, I tell you, I miss it!

But, here’s what I don’t miss:

  • the 9,000 calories per drink,
  • the acidic fiesta created in my stomach thanks to the caffeine,
  • the instant sugar rush followed by an overwhelming desire to take a nap, and
  • I really don’t miss my body’s severe addiction to it, the withdrawals suck.

So, while I do miss coffee I have happily given it up and have found other ways to satisfy my holiday specialty drink thrills.

The basis for this milkshake is chai mix (*see my note below), coconut milk (any milk substitute works; I also do this shake with almond milk and love it), pumpkin puree, maple syrup, pumpkin spice and not shown here: frozen bananas and ice cubes.

Photobucket

A secret: Once a weekish I slice up a few bananas, throw them onto a cookie sheet and pop them in the freezer for a couple hours. When they have flash frozen I transfer the chunks to ziplock bags for use whenever I want to make a milkshake. The bananas help provide a creamy milkshake-like texture. This is the basis for a zillion different “raw vegan” milkshakes. I make a rich chocolate shake that Jack likes and it can be whipped up in 60 seconds for an easy snack or dessert.

Throw 1 large frozen banana into your blender.

Photobucket

And then add the rest of your ingredients.

Photobucket

Blend and enjoy!

Photobucket

Pumpkin spice chai vegan milkshake
makes: 1.25L (a blender full)

1 large frozen banana, chopped in chunks
1 cup chai mix*
1.5 cup coconut milk (or the nondairy milk of your choice)
1 cup pumpkin puree
1T maple syrup
1tsp pumpkin spice mix
2 cups ice cubes

Throw everything into a blender  and blend until smooth.

*Most pre-made chai mixes have quite a bit of sugar in them, which I’m not thrilled about. There are lots of recipes out there for making your own chai from scratch, which I think is much preferable. I’m currently experimenting with several recipes and when I find something I like, I’ll share it. But for now … and the occasional treat, this pre-made mix is fine.

4 responses »

  1. An Indian neighbor introduced me to the loose leaf chai leaves you can get at any Indian supermarket. Now Bob and I exclusively use them to make chai at home – you can control the milk/water ratio and amount of sugar so much better. And it doesn’t really take any longer to make. It also tastes better this way. Check it out, if you haven’t already.

  2. Sounds good! I definitely need to try this. Trying to kick the coffee habit at the worse time. I also love me some winter time specialties. Peppermint mocha. *drool*
    I have no idea where I’d find that pre-made chai stuff, though. Well, I have an idea, but it’s pretty far away. Maybe this weekend I convince a little roadtrip. 😀

Leave a Reply

