End of summer garden update

Standard

Photobucket

Despite the fact that it will be 90F this week we are definitely at the end of Summer here in Northern California. We’ve already had rain and you can feel the cool weather starting to settle in.

But this is still California and I really appreciate our sunny climate especially as we head into Fall, my favorite season of the year. This beautiful climate affords us more evenings out back enjoying our patio and BBQ. And more time in our garden.

Photobucket

The side alley is already started for Fall crops. I’ve got TONS of kale, leeks and bok choy. More peas, carrots, chard and spinach, which did really well in early summer before the extreme heat set in. This is my second try on the leeks. I tried to start them about a month ago, but then we got slammed by the heat and they just couldn’t take it. They’re much happier now. Keep your fingers crossed.

In the back garden … here’s a little reminder of where we started in early summer.

Photobucket

Here’s where we’re at now.

Photobucket

Not bad, huh? Everything is full of produce except this little triangular bed in the front here. That I filled with cutting flowers: sunflowers, various varieties of zinnia and mums.

If I turn around we’ve got this little curvilinear bed that I’ve also filled with flowers and succulents. It’s an odd mix, but so far seems to be working well. I planted my first rose bush and surprisingly it has been blooming all summer. My biggest challenge has been that the cats use this bed as a litter box. They’ve killed two plants already. It’s driving me a bit nuts. If anyone has any hints on keeping the cats out of the flower beds I would appreciate it.

Photobucket

Anyway, a quick tour of the veggies.

Photobucket

We’ve the requisite squash and zucchini growing like gangbusters. That zucchini there is about a foot long. They’ve been HUGE!

Photobucket

We’ve got tomatoes that line our driveway plus these guys. These fellas were supposed to be bush plants (hence the reason I put them back here), but they grew like crazy and Jack had to build this super-cage for them.

Photobucket

They are still producing like crazy and boy, are they delicious. I have been eating tomatoes all summer and haven’t tired of them even a smidge.

Photobucket

This bed is full of peppers: bell, anaheim, banana, chili, cherry … we’ve got peppers coming out the whazoo!

Photobucket

From the same company that I got these Kaleidoscope carrots from …

Photobucket

… I also got Rainbow bell peppers, which gives us these amazing dark purple bell peppers along with the standard red, orange and green. The purple tastes a little sweeter than the green. I sliced some up for fajitas the other night and they were delish!

Although a little on the pricey side, I have been super happy with the seeds from Cook’s Garden. If you’re looking for something a little different, I highly recommend them.

Photobucket

In our long bed I’ve got tons of lettuce (in fact I have lettuce all over the garden; anywhere there was an empty spot I squeezed in more lettuce), rhubarb and these funky Asian cucumbers. I got these cukes from my friend Jason as seedlings and really had no idea what they were going to be like. Right now they look like okra on steroids, but according to Jason they get really big and are quite delicious. We shall see.

Photobucket

Ah. My lettuce. I’ve got 8 varieties of lettuce growing all over the place. Everything from the standard red leaf and Romaine to mesclun and arugula. I am so happy that I planted so much lettuce and with such variety. It’s really easy to grow, taste so good and has been a terrific part of our daily diet. I love it, love it, love it!

Photobucket

Next year I’m going to start it as early as possible. I regret that I wasted 3 months in the early season knowing now that it would have probably have done great and then we would have had fresh lettuce all summer long. Oh well, it’s all an experience, right?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Eggplant and bok choy, the perfect stir fry combo.

Photobucket

Here are the things that I learned in the garden this summer.

1. Fertilize weekly!
2. Neem oil is a girl’s best friend against aphids.
3. A concoction of beer, dish soap and water works just as well as expensive herbicides for pennies vs bucks.
4. Keep a large bowl of water in the garden for harvesting. Harvest and rinse outside before you take it into the house. Saves on mess/time.
5. Automatic watering is awesome. Invest in drip, my friends. Do not be me.
6. In 95F heat plan on watering 3x per day. Again, do not be me.
7. Check for pests on a daily basis. I went lax a couple days and the aphids took over my brassicas.
8. My favorite gardening hat is the traditional Vietnamese cone …

Photobucket

… the wide brim offers substantial protection, it’s VERY light weight and the cone shape at the top allows for a lot of air circulation so it’s way more cooling than some of my other more “traditional” sun hats. Plus, you avoid the sweaty “ring” around the forehead that you can get with traditional hats that have a collar. Ladies, you can totally avoid “hat head”. I was surprised to discover that it is dramatically more effective and comfortable than traditional western hats, especially in real heat. Final pro: they’re cheap!

9. Most importantly, gardening is super fun. All that hard work that we put in earlier this year was totally worth it!

9 responses »

  1. Beautiful gardens and what a bounty. To keep the cats away put a little ammonia on a cotton ball and place in the garden – maybe need a couple. We have raised beds and the cats that roam think it is the ultimate litter box and the unneutered male cats are just plain stinky – ewwww!

  2. If you have a giant zucchini that got away from you (there’s always a hidden one that becomes gigantic), you can make a delicious zucchini cobbler. Skin and seed the zucchini, cut into bite sized chunks. Put into a pot with 2/3 cup of lemon juice and 1/2 cup sugar. Cook until soft then add cinnamon and nutmeg to taste. Pour into a 9 x 13 pan and cover with your strusel topping (mine is to sprinkle with a yellow cake mix and chopped nuts then drizzle a stick of melted butter on top) and bake in 350 oven for 40 minutes. Tastes like apple cobbler….DELICIOUS

  3. I’m excited about Renee’s suggestion too because Hejduk (aka Big Fat Orange Cat) does the same thing in one of my flower beds and it drives me BONKERS! On one hand, peeing and pooping outside means less litter box to clean (yeah!) but the hosta, irises and bleeding heart were not so happy (boo!). Your bounty looks delish, totally jealous!

  4. Beautiful garden and beautiful bounty! We recently moved to Wisconsin and are living in a home on 70 acres of farmland. We have about 5 of those acres to ourselves and I’m looking forward to beautiful gardens next year. We are in the process of building beds by “lasagna gardening” which is a first for me. Guess I’ll have to blog about it!

  5. Pingback: From the garden: vegan eggplant parmigiana with quinoa polenta « Loonyville

  6. To repell the cats, find someone with a Sweet Gum Tree and go gather the falling spiked balls in the fall. They are the size of a large walnut and the cats won’t step on them as the poke their feet. You have to put the “balls” in a single layer and touching each other,squirrels hate them too.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

