Holy yum!

Standard

Photobucket

The abundance of fruit in the summertime calls for fruit pies and cobblers. I particularly love cobblers for their easy preparation and flexibility of fruit to dough ratio. I like more fruit and less dough in my cobblers.

I’m always trying new recipes in search of dishes that are “even better” … and this cobbler topping has landed on my Holy Yum! list. I couldn’t get Jack to stop eating it right out of the pan. We both loved this cobbler topping and I stuck a copy of the recipe in our “family cookbook”, which means it’s pretty darn special. In the past 18 months I have only tucked three recipes in there and this was one.

Plus, for those who care this recipe is vegan, has a low sugar GI and is probably the healthiest recipe that I’ve come across. Jack kept asking: How much butter was in there? None. How much sugar? No refined sugar at all. He gave me the squinty eye. Impossible!

What can I say, as far as cobbler toppings go it’s pretty darn healthy. What a boon that it’s the best tasting one, too!

This is a very generous recipe—I used half on my cobbler and added the rest to our homemade granola. It was delicious and didn’t last long!

Here you go, I hope you enjoy it as much as we have >>

Photobucket

Granola Cobbler Crust
Adapted from The Kind Diet

3 cups quick cook rolled oats
1 cup shredded coconut (optional, I just love coconut!)
2 cups sweet sorghum flour (barley, rice, spelt okay, too)
1/4 tsp fine sea salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp fresh nutmeg
3/4 cup coconut oil (safflower oil, if you don’t like coconut oil. I prefer the taste of coconut plus the health benefits)
3/4 cup brown rice syrup (the lowest sugar GI available and perfect taste for the recipe)
1/4 cup maple syrup (if you want to keep the sugar GI lower, eliminate this in favor of all rice syrup)
1+ cups chopped pecans (or nuts of your choice)

  1. In a large skillet over low heat dry-roast the dry ingredients for 5-8 minutes.
  2. In a sauce pan heat the oil and syrups then pour over dry ingredients.
  3. Mix and add nuts. Crumble with your fingers and spread over the fruit filling of your choice.
  4. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes covered with foil. Remove foil and continue baking for another 15 to 20 minutes or until topping is nice and golden brown.

Optional: Since I used only half of my dough on the cobbler I stuck the rest—still in the same pan (oven proof skillet) that I made the crumble in—right in the oven to bake alongside the cobbler. I let this cool and added it to our granola. Holy. Yum! You could also freeze the dough for future cobblers.

Two scrumptious bangs for the buck. Not bad!

Oh, and the same 2-for-1 bonus with the fruit filling. I like to keep the refined sugar count low so I use fresh fruit juice instead of sugar.

  1. Dump your fruit in a large sauce pan. Squeeze one lemon over the top.
  2. Cover 3/4 of the fruit with fruit juice of your choice (I like guava, or pear nectar, or mango orange … but use whatever tingles your hiney) and bring to boil. Let simmer until fruit is medium-soft. Add spices of your choice.
  3. Scoop out fruit for cobbler filling leaving the juice behind. Transfer fruit juice, which is now a rich concentrate, to decanter for cool cocktails or mocktails. I just add club soda (you could also add vodka) to a little of the fruit concentrate that we just made and voila, a fab fruity soda perfect for summer. Add a sprig of mint or lemon verbena and life is good, man!

Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

