Online learning

Standard

Photobucket

Going back to school has been an interesting experience in so many ways.

Here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. My brain ain’t what it used to be.
  2. Ramen soup costs $4 at the school cafeteria and only $0.49 at the store.
  3. I can’t live without amazon.com. (We saved hundreds on text books.)
  4. Color-coding is all kinds of awesomeness. (For those that are color blind, I’m so sorry.)
  5. I’m not sure how I previously survived school without the internet.

In efforts to supplement my learning (aka creaky brain) I have been watching tutorials on youtube. For example, if I’m having trouble with a topic in organic chemistry I’m sure to find several dozen tutorials out there teaching the theory. Some are quite sophisticated, some are basic, but all are pretty helpful.

Here’s a great site: Khan Academy. This dude’s great!

Here’s Bill Gates talking about the greatness of Khan Academy. I agree, Bill, I totally agree!

The majority of these clips are 5-10 minutes, so they’re fast and easy to digest. And best of all, you can play them over and over again.

Here’s a fella teaching in the more traditional way. You know what? Just as effective. I love his videos, too.

They’re so fantastic! How did I ever go through school without these self-serve videos?

For years I’ve enjoyed, as so many have, TED Talks, which has videos on everything from cancer to feminism from world-class opinion-leaders. It started as a conference in 1984 and now has sub-topic conferences held worldwide. Lucky for those of us who can’t attend, we can watch the talks online.


Wadah Khanfar: A historic moment in the Arab world, March 2011 (posted March 2011)


Iain Hutchison: Saving faces, July 2010 (posted Feb 2011)


Dan Pink on the surprising science of motivation, July 2009 (posted Aug 2009)

Now, if only I could squish all that info into my itty bitty brain all would be good.

One response »

Leave a Reply

