I heart my coffee …

Standard

Photobucket

… but I can’t drink it anymore. The acid hurts my stomach. And let’s not forget the other positive effects of caffeine—that it’s an appetite stimulant for sugar and fatty foods. Whoo! Who doesn’t want that, huh?

Over the past five years I have given up coffee more times than I can count. Once I lasted nearly a year.

But I always come back. I miss the rich aroma, the frothy milk, the little kick in my giddyup. I like tea, but it doesn’t have the same kind of depth to it.

It’s harder for me to give up coffee than sugar and that’s saying something.

I’ve been looking for a good substitution for eons. I’ve tried different things: yerba mate, chai, black tea, green tea, blah, blah, blah  … no good.

It’s not the same! It doesn’t offer the same satisfaction.

I was resolved to a life of guilty coffee-drinking. Until now …

I’ve discovered Teeccino.

Photobucket

From the company that brought us the Republic of Tea, Teeccino is an herbal “coffee”. Hallelujah!

Apparently I’m quite late to the party. People have been drinking Teeccino since the 90s. I had no idea.

Let me say up front that it doesn’t taste EXACTLY like coffee, but it’s pretty close (due to chicory) and does have a robust flavor profile that when mixed with a wee bit of milk, (which is how I take me coffee) offers me all of the satisfaction of a good cup of joe without the attacks on my health. There’s no caffeine, it’s mostly herbal and depending on the varietal, organic.

I’m pretty excited to find something that I can enjoy as much as coffee. Jack’s not quite as enthusiastic: “It’s okay. If you can’t drink coffee, I suppose this will work.” That being said, the man had two huge cups whereas he will normally only drink one cup of coffee.

We have tried two flavors:
1. Maya: French Roast – I like this one the best as it’s a more classic flavor profile.
2. Mediterranean: Vanilla Nut – Jack likes this one.

Here’s the ingredient list for the Vanilla Nut: organic carob, organic barley, organic chicory, dates, almonds, organic dates, natural vanilla extract, natural nut flavors, figs.

Here are the things that I like about it:

  1. It satisfies my taste/need for coffee.
  2. I brew it the same as I do coffee (single cup cone, French press, or drip coffeemaker) except it requires HALF the amount of grounds as coffee.
  3. Supposedly it’s beneficial to your health, which makes me feel like I’m doing something good for my body versus bad.

Here’s what I don’t like about it:

  1. It’s not sold everywhere. Although I did find it at my local Raley’s grocery store in the health food aisle.
  2. It’s $8.99 for an 11oz bag, which feels a little expensive, but considering that you use half the amount compared to coffee, it should actually provide the same, if not more, servings.

So, if you’re looking for a coffee-substitute, Teeccino is definitely worth a try.

Leave a Reply

