Thai tempeh with cashews

Standard

Photobucket

I’ll admit it: I’m a novice at cooking tempeh.

I’ve worked with tempeh several times in the past with unispiring results. When people talked about tempeh my reaction was: “Meh.” I don’t care how healthful it is, if it tastes bland, it tastes bland. No thanks.

Until now!

Finally, I have found a tempeh recipe that I can see will become a regular in my weeknight repertoire.

Once again, it fits my criteria: tasty, easy and cheap. As a bonus, it’s fast and very healthy.

If you have serious doubts about tempeh than I encourage you to give this recipe a try.

Thai tempeh with cashews
Adapted from Clean Food by Terry Walters

1 8oz package tempeh
1T coconut oil
1 large shallot, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1c toasted cahsews
1T roasted red chile paste
2T maple syrup
2t tamari (or soy sauce)
1/3c water
4 scallions, finely chopped

1. Cut tempeh into large chunks (2-3 inches) and steam 8 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside until cool.

2. In a saute pan saute shallots in coconut oil for 5-10 minutes until caramelized. Crumble tempeh directly into pan. Add red pepper and cashews. Saute 5 minutes.

3. In small bowl whisk chili paste, syrup, tamari and water. Pour over tempeh and saute another minute.

4. Remove from heat and top with chopped scallions.

Serve with rice (brown, white, basmati …) and steamed or sauteed vegetables like bok choy or broccolini.

Leave a Reply

