Chocolate espresso power bars

Standard

Photobucket

Two words.

Yum. Oh.

Okay, okay! I can’t stand the silence! I gotta be me and that means using more than two words.

So, here’s the deal. This semester my school schedule is packed, forcing me to get creative about snacking for quick between-class pick me ups. (I get super cranky when I’m hungry. Plus, my brain starts to go fuzzy and that’s not helpful while trying to memorize all the functions of the body in Physio. After all, my sole purpose these days is to use my mind. Not easy, but I do try.) Anyway, I started stashing Luna bars in the car for easy emergency food, but quickly realized that I was going to go broke as these babies aren’t cheap. And while I have a whole host of other snacks that I alternate through sometimes a good energy bar just fits the bill, you know what I mean? It also satisfies my sinful desires for a chocolate candy bar, but in a healthful way. I needed to start making my own.

I’m the kinda girl who makes her own meusli and yogurt. Why wouldn’t I want to make my own power bars?

But I had some requirements: the recipe needed to be easy, tasty and cheap. I perused quite a few recipes that had so many ingredients that I might as well save myself the trouble and just buy Luna bars.

I’m happy to say that this recipe fulfills all of my criteria and then some.

And to my surprise Jack’s response (not that I cared since these were pretty much just for me) was, “These are F****** good!”

And then he ate three of ’em.

And then he said again, “These are F****** good!”

I hope you like them as much as we do.

This is a no-bake recipe that takes place entirely in your food processor. I adapted these from Elana’s Pantry. Start to finish the prep took about five minutes. EASY! I love it!

Step 1. Throw into your food processor: pecans, cocoa powder, espresso powder, flax seed and brewer’s yeast. Grind until fine.

Photobucket

A little side note: My modifications to this recipe are the flax seed, brewer’s yeast and CAFFEINATED instant espresso powder. I’m all about the kick; I mean c’mon this is a POWER bar! But if you so choose, go decaf. No one will judge you. This is a judge-free zone. Be free, my friend, be free!

Photobucket

Step 2: Add pitted dates, vanilla and agave.

Photobucket

Blend until you get a ball of dough. Takes about a minute.

Photobucket

Step 3. Then press it into an 8×8 (ish) pyrex dish, ~ 1/4 inch height. No, you don’t need to grease it or anything. Throw the dish in the freezer for 2 hours to solidify, cut into bars and then wrap each bar individually in saran wrap or tin foil.

Photobucket

And voila! Healthy, chocolaty yumminess!

You can store them in the fridge or freezer. I prefer the freezer—they’ll soften up to the perfect temperature within a just minute of extraction. I prefer them to be a little harder, you might prefer them to be a little chewier. But no matter, they’re delish either way. Enjoy!

Photobucket

Chocolate espresso power bars
Adapted from Elana’s Pantry

1-1/2c pecans, lightly toasted (uh, I didn’t toast ’em, but I bet it would taste better if you did. I was too lazy.)
1/4c cocoa powder
2t espresso powder
2T flax seed, ground
2T brewer’s yeast
10-12 medjool dates, pitted
1T vanilla extract
1T agave nectar

1. Blend pecans, cocoa powder, espresso powder, flax seed, brewer’s yeast in food processor until finely ground.

2. Add dates, vanilla and agave and continue to grind until fully mixed and dough rolls itself into a big ball.

3. Press mix into 8×8 pyrex dish.

4. Freeze for 2 hours, cut into bars and wrap individually in saran wrap or tin foil. Store in freezer or fridge.

One response »

Leave a Reply

