I miss my heels

Standard

Photobucket
(Photo: Shabby Apple)

I cleaned out my closet again. Let us please take a moment of silence to mourn the giveaway of some pretty cute frocks.

I clean my closet pretty regularly and over the past year I have slowly been eliminating clothing that were remnants from my previous professional life. I used to wear suits, silky tops and stiletto heels. I used to have evening wear with sparkles and sexy shoes to match.

Photobucket
(Photo: Shabby Apple)

I used to wear darling dresses and smart skirts.

Photobucket

And the shoes! Oh, how I miss my shoes! And Lordy knows, I had many, MANY shoes. In my opinion, a girl can really never have enough shoes.

(When Jack and I first met he was a little flabbergasted at my collection of shoes. He asked me once, “Why do you need so many pairs?” Uh, hel-lo? Again, it’s a miracle we’re married.)

Photobucket
(Photo: Zappos)

I’m particularly drawn to wedge sandals. They’re stylish AND comfortable. Four inches in a wedge heel? No problem, I can go all day! And I love the bright, fun colors of summer wedges. I had a few pair, I admit.

Photobucket
(Photo: Anthropologie)

The other day I got the new Anthropologie catalog in the mail and ran across these boots. I guess I must have been whimpering and sighing out loud as I perused the catalog because Jack was prompted to ask me, “What’s wrong?”

I casually replied, “Oh, nothing.” But inside I was wailing, “Waaaahhh! I miss my cute clothes and stylin’ shoes!”

Since returning to full-time student mode my dress code has changed. I’ve exchanged the office for a chemistry lab. Instead of attending business meetings I’m dissecting cadavers. Gone are the suits and stylish work wear. Gone are the high heels and cute wedge sandals.

Now, it’s all about casual comfort and fitness. It’s about yoga pants, jeans and T-shirts that I don’t mind smearing formaldehyde on or staining with chemicals. If I’m really dressing up I’ll slip on a pair of corduroys with a button up shirt.

Woo.

These days it’s about comfy running shoes.

Photobucket

Oh, my. How life has changed.

3 responses »

  1. I just googled “I miss my heels” because a year ago I moved to the Central Coast and left my corporate lifestyle. Now I have a baby and like you I live in yoga pants and tennis shoes. I have a never ending spit up mark on my left shoulder and my hair is constantly a pony. A side pony if I’m feeling fancy. You are not alone! 🙂

  2. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

