What kind of fruit is this?

Standard

 

Photobucket

On our weekly pilgrimage to the local farm stand I walked by a huge pile of these dark green orange-looking things and they stopped me in my tracks. Why, hello. What what do we have here?

I think I’ve mentioned before that I could be a fruitarian. I’m attracted to fruit like … well, a fruitarian.

Needless to say, I saw this strange fruit and was fixated. Are these like the green oranges that they have in Vietnam? (I wrote about them here.) Because if yes, than I’m buying 5lbs of ’em, they’re soooooo gooood.

But they weren’t.

Hmmm. What the heck are these things?

The sign said “Cocktail Oranges”. Heh? Never heard of it.

We bought one.

As soon as we got home, before doing anything else, we sliced it open and ate it. Tasted like a cross between a grapefruit and a mild orange. It was good.

But what in the world was this thing?

What does my generation do when we don’t know something? We Google. Therfore, I Googled. And came up empty.

I couldn’t find anything on Cocktail oranges, but I did find “Cocktail Trees”. Here’s what it says:

From gardeningcentral.org: How about a tree with a variety of the more popular citrus fruits-oranges, mandarins, lemons, limes, and grapefruit.  Another great combination for a fruit cocktail tree are single stone fruits such as apricots, nectarines, peaches, and plums (or peach-cots (peach-apricot cross) peacherines (peach-nectarine cross) or plum-cots (plum-apricot cross) in several varying combinations).

Basically, it’s one tree that grows 4-6 varieties of fruit on it. It hasn’t been in production since 1941.

Interesting.

Veerrryyy, very interesting. Where do I find me one of these Cocktail trees? I think we need one.

2 responses »

  1. Don´t slice the seeds (as your picture shows you did), but put them in a pot. Well, of course there is a much better idea in your case: let Jack do it. Most seeds that I plant grow at least for a while. I think that Jack, being him and living in a warm place may help to keep it alive a lot longer. You may not end up with a tree with several kinds of fruit, but you may grow a tree with this green gems 🙂

Leave a Reply

