It’s a glitz and glam bridal tea

Standard

Photobucket

As Tara’s maid-of-honor I was thrilled to throw her a bridal shower to celebrate her impending marriage. We broke out the big hats and bling and had an old fashioned tea.

(This is a pic of the lovely Adrienne’s finger-bling AFTER she’d already taken OFF many of her rings. She’s got mucho bling. And she’s willing to share. Adrienne’s pretty cool. We love Adrienne. Mucho.)

First: Let me say a heartfelt thank you to my co-hosts: Jeanne (mother-of-the-bride and my mother-in-law), Adrienne (who I’ve already mentioned my adoration of) and Jeanie (who along with Adrienne made sure we ate divine desserts). Most especially thank you to Jeannie, my mother-in-law and party-throwing partner. You’re an inspiration, Jeannie. Not only did I have a great time putting the shower together with you but I learned a lot from you (she throws an amazing wedding, too). My hat’s off to you!

Also, a special thank you to my father-in-law, Wes, who cleaned the house inside and out, ironed eight million table cloths and napkins, and entertained the two gentlemen that dared show up at an all-girl party. I’m a lucky gal to have such cool in-laws.

Next: The food.

Photobucket

Tea sandwiches: Apricot chicken salad, cucumber basil, fig and olive with goat cheese.

Photobucket

Cream scones. (Remember when I was testing them back in March?)

Photobucket

These are the fig and olive opened-faced sandwiches. Thanks to Jeannie’s ingeniousness (is that a word?) we used a flower shaped cookie cutter to die-cut the raisin bread and added a half grape in the middle. They were darling little flowers.

Photobucket

Lemon tarragon chicken spread.

Photobucket

Chocolate dipped strawberries.

Photobucket

Chocolate crack cookies. (Remember when I tested these babies in May?)

I can’t believe I didn’t take photos of the exquisite petite fours and pastries that Adrienne and Jeanie provided in lieu of a traditional cake. They were FANTASTIC! I’m kicking myself that I didn’t take photos. On the other hand, they went fast … so maybe they were gone before I could get to them. Yeah. That’s it.

Next up: The bride and her peeps. Tea drinking. A lot of socializing. A little game playing. We only played one so please don’t roll your eyes. And finally the gift giving (I don’t think Williams-Sonoma has any more merchandise). Fun, fun, fun.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Last: Tara and me.

I’m lucky to have married into a great family. Not only do I have the best husband ever, but I gained a pretty cool sister, too.

Dear Tara: Sending you lotsa love and best wishes for a joyful marriage. Love, me.

One response »

Leave a Reply

