Ariane and Bob

Standard

Photobucket

With Jack’s sister getting married in a little over a week I’ve got weddings on the brain. It reminded me of a stack photos that I’ve been meaning to sort through since … uh, last year. Gulp. It’s shameful, I know. What kind of photo-taking friend am I?

Last October my best friend Ariane married her beloved Bob (and his five kids) in Vermont.

Ariane and I have known each other since we were wee little girls growing up in the wilds of Colombia, South America. I was eight, she was nine. We played Barbies together, played roller derby, put on musicals for our family and friends. We read Nancy Drew books, built Barbie furniture and sewed little doll clothes into couture fashion together. Her mother taught me how to properly fold towels and how amazing French pastries are. (Her mum is French and has the cutest accent. She’s also the most amazing cook.)

We haven’t lived in the same city, nay, the same state or even country since the early-80s and yet somehow we always kept in touch. Since the early-90s I have been in California and she in Pennsylvania. Sometimes we talk once a month, sometimes three times a week. Sometimes its even more sporadic than that. But every time we talk its like no time has passed.

When she called me and told me she was getting married I was thrilled for her. When she said that she needed me there I said, You bet. I was so honored to be part of the family—to help with the pre-wedding plans, to get up early and fix breakfast for the wedding party, to bring her a plate of strawberries the morning of and help her with her hair, to chat while she put on her makeup, to be the one to hold her ring for Bob. I was happy to help her host all the out-of-town family and guests. When we got to the church only to discover that the florist had completely forgotten one of the bridesmaids’ bouquets, Ariane looked at me in panic. Without speaking a word to each other she could read my response, No problem chica, I got your back.

That’s what old friends are for.

Except when it comes to reviewing wedding photos in a timely fashion. In that aspect I’m a dismal failure of a friend.

But my heart’s in the right place. Right?

Hello? Tap. Tap. This thing on on?

Well, better late than never. There are a zillion photos, but here are just a few. (Ariane: I promise to get these sorted and to you by your first anniversary!)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

One response »

  1. Pingback: Postcards from Vermont « Loonyville

Leave a Reply

