Celebrating sunshine potato salad

Standard

Photobucket

There’s something about warm weekends and being outdoors that calls for potato salad. Why? I don’t know. I’m a creature of pop culture programming.

For the past month or so we’ve been doing a lot of home improvement projects, one of which was to replace about 75′ of fencing. Yay. We’ve got another 75′ to go. Groan.

To celebrate this weekend’s sunshine, let’s make some potato salad.

This is a no-mayonnaise (gasp!), French-style salad. It’s one of my favorites. And it’s super easy.

Step 1: Steam about a pound of baby potatoes. Should take about 10 minutes. I had just one leftover baby red so I threw it in there with a bunch of tiny golds. Why was just one left over? No clue. Another one of life’s many mysteries.

Photobucket

Step 2: While the potatoes are still warm, cut into bite-sized pieces and dump into a big bowl.

Photobucket

Step 3: Dice 1 medium red onion. All I had was shallots, so I did 3-4 shallots. Add to bowl.

Step 4: Chop about 1 cup of tomatoes. All I had was cherry’s so I just halved them. I was almost too lazy to do even that.

Photobucket

Step 5: Dump everything in the bowl together. Add 3-4 tablespoons of your favorite vinegar (mine’s balsamic, but the most popular is red wine), a drizzle of olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste. Mix with giant forks.

Photobucket

Step 6: Sprinkle with whatever herbs you have on hand. I had extra chives, mint and Italian parsley.

Photobucket

Dish and serve with smoked turkey on bagel sandwiches. I heard from the hot, sweaty fellas workin’ on the fence that it was “Damn good!” That’s a win in my book.

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. This looks yummy. The Italian version of this (which my MIL makes and I am addicted to) has potatoes, green beans, onions, basil and sometimes cucumbers…..so refreshing.

    Good luck on the fence…..household projects….ohh, so fun.

    Hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

