I heart my Kindle

Standard

Photobucket
(photo: Amazon)

I’m back from Vietnam and settling back into life. While I was gone my darling husband moved our entire household to our new house. He unpacked. He built furniture. He organized. He was all kinds of saintly.

Well, I did send him little diagrams of where I wanted the furniture in each room so I think that helped. I came home to a house that was 80% put together. It was such a nice feeling. As I walked around our clean new abode I thought to myself, “Wow, I really needed to go on vacation more often. Maybe I can get out of housework altogether.”

And then he led me into a room that had a small mountain of boxes stacked up in the corner. “Look sweetheart, I left these here for you to unpack. I knew you’d want to handle this personally.”

Yeah. Uh huh.

He left the final 20% (the decorating crap) for me to do. And I was happy as a clam to do so.

For the past week I have been painting cabinets, sanding drawers, hanging pictures and buying, in hubby’s words, more decorating crap. Does the bathroom really NEED that white porcelain Chinese dog and those red lacquer vases? Why, yes. Yes, I think it does. It makes my peeing experience so much more pleasant. A happy pee makes a happy girl. TMI? Okay, moving on.

While the home design stuff has been fun, I’m kinda sick of it.

I’m over it.

I’m done with with decorating and design. At least until Spring when I’m sure I’ll change things around just ’cause it’s sunny outside.

BUT. What I really want to talk about today is my Kindle!

Hubby bought me a Kindle for my birthday last December. Being the avid reader that I am, the concept of the Kindle seemed like a good idea, but I wasn’t in a burning hurry to get one. I already owned hundreds of books and trading books with friends is a good excuse to get together, socialize and get free booty. Plus, there’s something nice about turning actual pages. How old fashioned of me.

I read my Kindle on a road trip from California to Oklahoma and started to get a glimmer of the Kindle’s pros. But it wasn’t until I traveled internationally for a month living out of a carry-on bag that I really fell in love with it. I mean, I REALLY. REALLY. LOVE. IT. I am a convert. I am addicted. I can’t live without it.

I heart my Kindle. Here’s why.

1. It’s slim and lightweight and therefore can be schlepped in my purse at all times. For you serious readers you know what I’m talking about. We always have a book in our purse. Kindle weighs less and takes up less room than a paperback. This is especially wonderful if you’re traveling and have to live out of a teeny tiny carry-on bag. I think my map was bigger than my Kindle. How cool is that?

2. I can easily read and, more importantly, flip pages with one hand while I eat, drink my coffee, cocktail, whatever with my other hand.

3. Buying books is lightening fast and convenient. I can download a book in less than 15 seconds. Seriously, that’s how fast it is. I can pre-order a book and as soon as it becomes available it automatically downloads to my Kindle. I don’t have to wait and go to the store. I don’t have to worry that my fave author is sold out (as has happened in the past resulting in  much teeth gnashing and a bit of swearing) … in fact, I can order older books that are hard to find in stores without worrying about it being in stock. Plus, getting books while international was super easy. You can download off whispernet (for a tiny extra fee) or download to your computer and transfer to your kindle, which loads like a jump drive. Easy (and fast) either way.

4. E-books are cheaper. Yay! Particularly since so many fave authors are in hardback.

5. Don’t have to buy more bookshelves or dust it. Thank God. Books collect dust like nobody’s business.

6. Auto bookmarks your place in the book without destroying pages. I always felt a little guilty about that but was too annoyed with bookmarks to use ’em.

7. Built in dictionary. Interesting way to improve one’s vocabulary. It’s handy and makes you feel a wee smarter.

8. Can e-highlight packages and download them easily. As someone who loves to pull quotes, this little feature is like having Christmas all year round. And did I mention that everything about the Kindle is easy? It is. It really is.

9. Easy online management with Amazon. Can also archive all books on a hard drive and they take up a minuscule amount of storage space.

10. Amazon has amazing customer support.

Two days before I left Vietnam the screen on my Kindle started to go a little wonky. I thought maybe someone had swapped out my Kindle for an etch-a-sketch. Some yokel was playing a nasty joke on me!

I weeped and wailed to no avail. Finally, I called Amazon and told the customer service dude the situation. I also told him about my angst—I was in a particularly good part of the book and dying to finish it only to have the Kindle capoop on me—and he understood. He really did. He could feel my pain. I needed to find out what happened in the book and I couldn’t read! Scratch my eyes out why don’t you!

So, he just sent me a new Kindle. Said it would be waiting for me by the time I got home. All I had to do was put my old defunct Kindle in the box, print the label he was going to email me, and send it back to Amazon for free.

Wow.

He even re-registered the new Kindle for me so that all I had to do was power it up and reload my books, which took all of 60 seconds. It was so easy! Right out of the box, it was so, so easy!

Wow.

I can read again.

I wanted to weep with joy. I was so relieved. Do you know that feeling?

If you do than you know what I mean when I say, “I. Heart. My. Kindle.”

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the review. I have often wondered about the electronic books….and the convenience of being able to have it with me at all times is alluring.

    I just redid my dining room this weekend with stuff I pulled out from the basement…..and I’m sooooo happy….didn’t spend a dime and it looks great. I remember how wonderful your house looked, you have an excellent way of pulling things together……so I can’t wait to pee at your house.

Leave a Reply

