Snack foods

Standard

Oh, man. One of the things that I love about Vietnam is the street food and snacks that are available everywhere. You can’t walk ten meters down the street without running into a street vendor offering up small bites of yumminess.

Photobucket

Let’s start with the normal stuff: ice cream cups. Popsicles and soft serve cones are also extremely popular. Here we’ve got an assortment of flavors that we definitely do not get at home: mung bean, durian, taro, aloe vera yogurt and casava chocolate.

Photobucket

Rice crispy ball sweetened with sugar syrup.

Photobucket

Corn puffs sweetened with molasses and a little ginger.

Photobucket

Fresh roasted sweet potatoes and casabas. It really hits the spot when it’s cold and chilly outside.

Photobucket

Sliced green mangoes sprinkled with a mixture of white pepper, salt and chili pepper. (This dish in particular reminds me of my childhood growing up in South America. I absolutely love it!)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Fresh roasted water chestnuts.

Photobucket

Fresh roasted corn sprinkled with sea salt.

Photobucket

Steamed sweet black bean cake filled with coconut and mung beans. This is kind of like a steamed sweet dumpling wrapped in banana leaves. It’s a specialty of the city of Nam Dinh.

Photobucket

Rice cakes topped with a gingered peanut brittle.

There is so much more available but I was too busy snacking to remember to take more photos. Ha! Oh, boy. It’s a wonder I’m not waddling home. All the street food snacks are so delicious and fun to eat.

One response »

  1. At first, the water chestnuts looked like beetles to me (we called them June Bugs)…..The durian ices interested me. I’ve smelled durian, but never eaten it….hear it’s pretty good.

    I never ate a chestnut till I met my husband. They are Italian and are crazy for them at the holidays….not bad but the peeling is a bit of work.

Leave a Reply

