Hoi An—charm city

Standard

Photobucket

For the past several days we’ve been on a road trip from Saigon to Ha Noi. Along the way we stopped to visit one of my many aunties in Hoi An, an utterly charming city in central Vietnam. After celebrating a belated Tet with a wonderful lunch at my auntie’s home along the river we decided to play tourist and head into the city’s old downtown, which is a huge draw for tourists. I could instantly see why.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

My mom is on the left and my auntie is on the right. She is a well-known Vietnamese author quite involved in the arts community. As soon as I have them edited I’ll be posting pictures of her riverside home that is filled with art and eclecticism. It reminds me of the country home of Picasso … you can tell an artist resides there. Even the air feels liberating and creative.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My cousin Kim trying on scarves. Really, can one ever have enough scarves? I think not.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The famous Japanese covered bridge also known as Chua Cau or the Pagoda bridge. It’s physically unimpressive but carries great lore.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

While we were leaving downtown Leah and I couldn’t resist running back for one of the streetside donuts. Every country seems to have its own version of donuts—in this case they’re really similar to beignets (I’m guessing due to the French influence) and indeed they were delish. There’s nothing like fried foods covered in sugar!

All in all, Hoi An is an absolutely charming city to spend the afternoon in.

Leave a Reply

