Happy Mother's Day!

Standard

wendy branton

This is my mom, Wendy.

I do not say this lightly or just because she is my mom, but I have the most amazing mother. I’m thankful every day that she is my mom. She’s a strong, courageous, funny, exceptionally smart, progressive and incredibly caring woman. She’s got an adventurous spirit that we, her children, can only hope to live up to.

She is our inspiration and our rock. No matter that she’s only a hundred pounds and barely five feet tall … her spirit is bigger than all of us.

wendy branton

wendy branton

wendy branton

wendy branton

wendy branton

Wendy Branton

Wendy Branton

Wendy Branton

Wendy Branton

New Year’s 2009.

Wendy Branton

Huggin’ her grandkids.

wendy branton

She is currently seventy years old and constantly on the go. I snapped these last two pictures just a couple weeks ago after picking her up from San Francisco International Airport upon her return from a charity-oriented trip to Vietnam. She was full of stories and excitement, laughing and energetic despite 24-hours of travel from Southeast Asia.

On the drive home from the airport she regaled me with stories about how she and her friends had met with the President of Vietname (she said this to me like it was no big deal—an after thought) for a special ceremony honoring an ancient temple; she and her little delegation of friends were all over the Vietnamese news and had reporters and cameramen with them for three straight days. She told me of how excited she was to be helping an orphanage and the elderly blind in her home village. She told me of the new people she befriended and had taken into her heart. She told me of how she and her friends would go out to dinner, cafes and enjoy karaoke until the wee hours, afterwhich they would simply transition to little outdoor sidewalk vendors selling soup around makeshift camping stoves and they would sit on little stools, laugh and talk and slurp their hot soup before heading home to their beds.

But mom, you’re 70. Shouldn’t you be slowing down? Her answer: NO! Life is very short and it is for living and laughing and loving.

wendy branton

When people ask me where I get all my energy, I refer them to my mom. I can only hope to be half as wonderful as she.

To celebrate Mother’s Day, the local girls in our family are taking mom out for dinner and a show of Lebanese music and belly dancing, supposedly the best in the Bay Area. That’s what she wanted—to see some type of fun show or go to the theater. Boring and staid is SO not her style.

I hope your Mother’s Day is equally filled with joy and love. Happy Mother’s Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

