Entertainment: What are you reading?

Standard

julia spencer-fleming

At the moment I’m reading an awful lot of cookbooks as I’m attempting to fill in (poorly, I might add) for our managing editor Jeannie while she’s on maternity leave. She typically handles our food sections. For the past two weeks I’ve been researching BBQ for our upcoming Summer Guide in June. I also have an interview coming up with Bryant Terry on his new cookbook: Vegan Soul Kitchen. I’m really looking forward to that interview. Doesn’t vegan soul food sound somehow oxymoronic? How can soul food be vegan? No fat back? No pork? No catfish? Huh? It does not compute. So far, I’m enjoying the cookbook and have marked quite a few recipes to test.

So, when I’m not reading cookbooks, or the news, or other editors’ fascinating stories about alternative medicine or the slowly rebounding state of real estate in the area, I’m looking for a little escapism. A little? Ha! More like a lot.

For the past six months I’ve been hearing rave reviews about Julia Spencer-Fleming‘s Clare Fergusson series. She’s been snapping up mystery awards like Pac-man chompin’ dots. Finally I’ve got some in my hot little hands. Normally I’m not too picky about starting a series from the very beginning, but in this case I’ve been holding out until I could get a hold of book one.

It finally came in! Thank you, Lord! Thank you!

So … what are you reading?

Leave a Reply

