Entertainment: Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas

Standard

Photobucket

For those that read romance novels, Lisa Kleypas is no stranger; in fact, many of her books are considered classics and a number of her novels appear on folks’ ten-best lists. With two dozen books in the genre, she built her twenty plus-year career on historical romance novels.

I’ve been a fan for years. She created one of my favorite heroes, Derek Craven, in the historical romance Dreaming of You.

In 2007 she decided to break out and published her first contemporary romance, Sugar Daddy, to mediocre reviews. I’ll admit that I was a wee disappointed in this first book of a series about the Travis family siblings. My biggest complaint was that it took half the book for the hero and heroine to meet. I hate that. I mean REALLY hate it.

The second book, Blue-Eyed Devil, was better, a little more like the Kleypas I was used to, and I began to have a little hope again.

The third book, Smooth Talking Stranger, was just released March 31st. (Warning: it’s in hardback. Ugh for all those watching their book budgets.) It’s the best of the three and proves that Kleypas has hit her stride again. Her contemporary novels tackle a new voice (she writes in first person versus third) and a new genre, which are difficult tasks for any writer to undertake. I’m glad I stuck with her as this book was fast-paced and fluid. The hero and spunky heroine made me laugh out loud and their emotional roller coaster ride was totally believable. Their story stuck with me even after I set it down and inspired me to pull out the first and second books and quickly skim through them again. I enjoyed the second, Blue-Eyed Devil, even more after reading the third book. Probably not the ideal scenario, but the result regardless.

I liked Smooth Talking Stranger so much that I’m looking forward to Joe’s story, the fourth installment about the Travis siblings. At least I’m assuming that Joe’s the hero of the next book. There aren’t any other siblings to chronicle unless we fast forward in time and the tweenie little sister Carrington grows up in a millisecond.

If you’re looking for a quick, comforting read you really can’t go wrong with Smooth Talking Stranger.

PS. Please don’t take this as an “official” review … I don’t have the time or the inclination to go into a full spiel. There are folks who do it far better than me >>>

One response »

  1. Pingback: Entertainment: Romance novel stereotypes—yay or nay? « Skipper’s Log

Leave a Reply

