Day in the life: Earthquake vs. purty plants

Standard

EQ

Those that know me know that I am NOT a morning person. If I’m getting up at the crack of dawn, it’s for a darn good reason.

I had to get up early in order to go visit with Pat from the Purple Geranium nursery, which she runs on the backside of her property in Fairfield. What is it with plant people being morning folk? Shudder. She’s incredibly talented though, so I’ll try not to hold it against her.

Purple Geranium

We had a good chat about how to put together gorgeous container arrangements and then she showed me all kinds of beautiful and unusual annuals.

Photobucket

Purple Geranium

Purple Geranium

Don’t ask me what these are, I’d have to confer with my fact sheet that is written completely in Latin and I need way more coffee (or Mountain Dew crack) for that. You know, it’s ironic that I’m the one visiting with Pat because I’m a total brown thumb. When I say brown, I mean black. The only thing I can keep alive are my orchids and that’s because you only have to water them five times a year, or in my case, whenever I roll around to remembering.

Anyway, the point is that while I rose at the crack of dawn to be charmed by plants, which I eventually was, I was instantly smitten with E.Q. (stands for earthquake) instead. It was pretty much love at first rub for us. (Get your mind out of the gutter you guys. It’s a cat!)

EQ

EQ

EQ

EQ

EQ

EQ

She’s the sweetest feline—eleven year’s old and walks like a princess with soulful honey eyes. I had a hard time taking her picture because she kept rushing up to wind herself around my legs, pushing to be petted.

I wanted to put her in my pocket and take her home, but I think she would have missed gardening in her greenhouse.

Leave a Reply

