Entertainment: Paul Newman

Standard

paul newman

This weekend we had a little Paul Newman mini-marathon. I had no idea that a Newman night could be so, uhm, romantic.

We started out with one of my all time faves, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. Holy crap. That’s Newman and Redford at their best. Every time I watch it I get this big grin on my face at their snarkastic guy-pal antics. Love that movie.

Then we moved on to From the Terrace, which also stars the incomparable Joanne Woodward and Ina Balin. I’d never seen it before and really enjoyed it. Newman is a tortured soul looking for love in all the wrong places. When he finally finds it, it hits him like a two by four. But my goodness, every character goes through such torture … good intentions can lead to blind ambition and lots of passive aggression.

And then finally we ended with The Long, Hot Summer, also with Joanne Woodward. Whew. Is it hot in here?

Photobucket

I’d forgotten Paul Newman had a six pack back in the day. And I was kinda shocked at the sight of Newman’s bare chest in a film from the 50s—I just assume more film modesty back then. (There’s also a scene in From the Terrace where he’s got his shirt off and my jaw literally dropped for a minute.)

There’s nothing steamier than watching Woodward and Newman sizzle up the screen.

Leave a Reply

