I heart Canepa Deli

Standard

Canepa Deli

We have been waiting for months for another deli to open in downtown Fairfield. When we heard that Gigi and Ray Canepa, owners of the popular dining spot, Vintage Caffe at Manka’s Corner, were opening an Italian deli downtown, we were thrilled. And hopeful. And we did cartwheels down the office hallway.

Okay, I’m the only who did a cartwheel. Not pretty. My mind is young, my body is not.

While I don’t think my peers are interested in standing beside me on this cartwheeling thing, they’re enthusiastically supportive when I say, “Welcome!”

If you haven’t been, go. Go. Now. They’ve got a terrific assortment of cheeses, meats, prepared deli salads and of course, sandwiches.

Canepa Deli
I am particularly fond of the cheese cases. Just looking at all that glorious cheese makes me feel tingly. There’s both a wide variety and good quality of offerings. They’ve also got some premium jellies and spreads to accompany the cheeses. One of my favorite pairings is fig chutney with a baby brie. Or an apricot jam with a sharp blue cheese and a glass of muscat. Oh, good Lord! It’s heaven, I tell you.

So, welcome to the neighborhood Canepa, we’re so happy to have you.

Visit Canepa Deli at 721 Texas St, Fairfield, Calif.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Food: Orangina vs San Pellegrino « Editors’ Cantina

  2. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! this deli!
    The atmosphere is great, the staff is warm and knowledgeable, and the food is memorable! The selection of cheeses, salames, deli meat, ready-to-eat food and pastries are wonderful!
    I live in Sacramento and this will become a well-worth stop when heading to the Bay Area…
    *My tip: get there early for the Rustic Apple Tart! WOW!

Leave a Reply

